Field meetings

2018 field meetings

Date Description Leader(s)
Mon. 8th Jan Local Winter Walk Reg Radford
Wed. 24th Jan Local Walk Susan Bailey
Thu. 15th Feb Local Walk David Blowers
Sat. 24th Feb Arbor Low & Middleton by Youlgreave Ron & Mary Weston
Thu. 8th Mar Crowden (Mountain Hares) Joan Potts
Tue. 27th Mar Etherow Country Park Margaret Race
Wed. 11th Apr Local Walk from Co-op Car Park (not Town Hall), at 10.00am Chris Jones
Sat. 28th Apr Healey Dell Mark Higginbottom

 

Longstone Edge

Members of the New Mills Natural History Society held a field meeting on Longstone Edge on 5 July 2017. We looked at a number of plants typical of calcareous grassland and leadrakes, as well as some butterflies.

You can view pictures of some of what we saw.

Read more: Longstone Edge

Old Dale field meeting

I have recently joined the New Mills Natural History Society. They hold field meetings to look at wildlife.

We visited Old Dale, a limestone dale managed by Derbyshire Wildlife Trust between Buxton and Bakewell on the Monsal Trail.  This was an enjoyable walk, especially for a botanist, as the slopes of the dale support a rich and varied flora. We saw two different orchids, Jacob's-ladder (Derbyshire's county flower), several species of St John's-wort, Flea Sedge, Mossy Saxifrage, Green Spleenwort and typical grasses of calcareous grasslands such as Meadow Oat-grass.

Orchids

The first two photographs above are Common Twayblade (Neottia ovata). This orchid is shown in older textbooks as Listera ovata, but more recent molecular phylogenetic studies have shown it is closely related to Bird's-nest Orchid (Neottia nidus-avis) and the genera have been combined.

Read more: Old Dale field meeting

2017 field meetings

Date Description Leader(s)
Wed. 3rd May Heritage Wood, Atlow & Ednaston Pam Richards & Ron Weston
Thu. 25th May Errwood Reservoir 7.00 p.m. Joan Potts
Tue. 30th May Wye Dale, Deepdale & Chelmorton Chris Jones
Fri. 9th Jun White Peak Elaine Radford
Mon. 12th Jun Broadhurst Edge Wood 7.00 p.m. Ron Weston
Thu. 29th Jun Old Moor 9.30 a.m. Roy & Jennifer Dagnall
Wed. 5th Jul Longstone Edge Barry Soames
Thu. 20th Jul Hoe Grange Quarry Steve Price
Sat. 5th Aug Chelmorton, Five Wells Cairn,Taddington & Flagg Tony Axcell
Tue. 22nd Aug Magpie Mine Pat & Anne O'Mara
Fri. 1st Sep Tissington (partly by bus) John Hawksford
Fri. 22nd Sep Padley Gorge & Longshaw Estate Chris Lees & Liz Honeybell
Wed. 4th Oct Langsett Reservoir George & Nicky Burgess
Thu. 12th Oct Watford Lodge Nature Reserve Closure & Working Party Joan Potts
Thu.19th Oct Fungus Foray Irene Blagden
Tue. 7th Nov Brian Fox Memorial Walk & Pub Lunch (booking essential) John Hawksford
Wed. 15th Nov Tame Trail Susan Bailey
Wed. 6th Dec Carsington Reservoir Joan Potts
Thu. 28th Dec Walk it off! Probably using a bus John Hawksford

 

Subcategories